Support Local Journalism


Nampa school board trustee Kim Rost will keep her position after only 27% of voters on Tuesday supported a recall. 

Three highway district commissioners lost their seats to challengers. 

In the Canyon County Highway District, Randy Wood succeeded over incumbent John McEvoy. The commission in 2019 had asked McEvoy to resign when he was jailed on a probation violation stemming from a 2013 criminal case regarding his property on Kcid Road. 

“He’s been an outstanding board member,” district Director Dave Jones told the Idaho Press at the time, but the challenges in McEvoy’s personal life concerned the commissioners that it would reflect negatively on the board.

McEvoy received 24% of the vote on Tuesday.

In the Golden Gate Highway District, incumbent David Lincoln lost to Andy Bishop, who is the manager of the Riverside Irrigation District in Parma, and Chairman Virgil Holsclaw lost to Ed Leavitt.

Kuna Library District voters selected Bobbie Sailer and Rachel Byington as their library board trustees. Sailer, the current chairwoman, has served on the board for 24 years; incumbent Liz Caldwell lost reelection.

Meridian Library District voters selected Tyler Ricks and Laura Knutson to serve six-year terms. Knutson is a longtime educator with the West Ada School District. Ricks, 23, said he has been using the library for most of his life and he wants to bring a "youth perspective in an area that is lacking youth voices."

Meridian library board incumbents Dustin Barrett and Howard Little — who was the longest-standing trustee with more than 20 years of service — did not seek reelection. The trustee-elects will be sworn in on June 16.

Rost was the second Nampa school board member to survive a recall in two months.

Petitioners argued Rost, the sole board member in September to vote for a hybrid model rather than a fully online one, ignored scientific and medical guidance. They also claimed she targeted Superintendent Paula Kellerer by questioning Kellerer giving herself and staff members coronavirus-related stipends without first getting board approval, Idaho Education News reported. Trustees ratified the stipends later that month, including one for Kellerer, on a 5-0 vote.

Rost, former board chairwoman, in her statement on the ballot, said her volunteer service for the district has been “unwavering” over the past 16 years.

“As Board Chair, I ensured Trustees received information from doctors, psychologists, counselors, law enforcement, parents, and teachers prior to making decisions,” her ballot statement reads. “All of my actions have been in accordance with Idaho Laws and Trustee Code of Ethics, with counsel by the Idaho School Board Association or legal counsel when required. … My goal as a Trustee has always been transparency and accountability with the families of this community at the forefront of my mind.”


Canyon County Highway Commissioner Sub District 1

• Jay Gibbons — 1,065 (96.99%)

Canyon County Highway Commissioner Sub District 2

• Randy Wood — 994 (75.47%)

• John McEvoy — 316 (23.99%)

Golden Gate Highway Commissioner Sub District 1

• Andy Bishop — 229 (56.54%)

• David Lincoln — 172 (42.47%)

Golden Gate Highway Commissioner Sub District 2

• Ed Leavitt — 216 (54.82%)

• Virgil Holsclaw — 175 (44.42%)

Nampa School Board Trustee Zone 4 Recall

• Against recalling Kim Rost — 631 (73.29%)

• For recalling Kim Rost — 230 (26.71%)

Kuna Library Trustees (vote for two)

• Bobbie Sailer — 222 (38.61%)

• Rachel Byington — 207 (36.00%)

• Liz Caldwell — 146 (25.39%)

Meridian Library Trustees (vote for two)

• Tyler Ricks — 626 (30.8%)

• Laura Knutson — 518 (25.5%)

• Jody Richael — 494 (24.3%)

• Becky McKinstry — 397 (19.5%)

Results are from Ada and Canyon counties and are unofficial until canvassed by the boards of commissioners.

Editor's note: This story has been corrected to show that Kim Rost is no longer board chairwoman.

Recommended for you

Load comments