Your vote counts

Gem County citizens are stepping into the political arena this fall to provide contested races for the City of Emmett mayoral position and three city council slots. A large field will be vying for five seats on the Emmett Independent School District board of trustees as well.

The filing deadline to be included on the Nov. 5 ballot was last Friday at 5 p.m. and according to local election officials, there will be an election. All city and school board elections are non-partisan and do not require party affiliations.

According to papers formally filed last week incumbent Gordon Petrie will be challenged for the office of Mayor in Emmett by sitting city councilman Steve Nebeker.

Three city council positions are up for election and all three of the incumbents, Shawn Alder, Tona Henderson and Mike Stout have filed to seek re-election. Announcing to challenge for those seats are Thomas Butler, Brian Gregory, Brett McGann, Denise Sorenson and Gerald Turner.

The top three vote recipients in the November election will determine those three positions. There is no specified head-to-head election for a specific seat according to Emmett City by-laws.

Five positions are coming available on the Emmett School Board due to a series of resignations and appointments the past two years. Only board chairman Jody Harris’s seat on the board is not up for election. Incumbents Bill Hamilton and Jefferson Jenkins have chosen not to run for re-election. Terry Jones, Robert Teeter and Ronnie Weekes have filed to seek re-election. Adding their names to the ballot last week were Tiffiny (Ruegner) Anderson, Michael Garner, Mark Helms, Michael Kimball, Nicole Mitts, M. Ross Walker and Houston (Hoss) White.

The school board candidates receiving the top three vote totals will be placed in four-year terms. The fourth and fifth leading vote recipients will be placed in two-year terms.

Also on the Nov. 5 ballot will be a bond proposal from Gem County Fire Protection District #1.

Board positions for the GCFP # 1 and Gem County Fire Protection District #2, the Middleton Rural Fire District and the Eagle Fire Administrative Office will also appear on some Gem County ballots depending on if the voter resides in those specific jurisdictions. Sweet-Montour and Ola cemetery district’s will also decide leadership positions at that time.

Support Local Journalism


Load comments