Support Local Journalism


Sun Valley — The 2019 Sun Valley Film Festival will take place March 13 to 17, according to a press release. Now in its eighth year, SVFF offers five days of films, panels, parties and more, including three world premieres.

Meg Ryan will receive the Vision Award, which is presented to an industry icon whose contributions to the art of cinema have changed the industry for the better. The award will be presented at a private dinner at the historic Roundhouse Lodge, on Saturday, March 16.

Award-winning actor and Idaho native Aaron Paul will receive the Pioneer Award, presented by Variety for his groundbreaking work in television and film on Friday, March 15. He will also attend the world premiere screening of The H Collective’s “The Parts You Lose,” directed by Christopher Cantwell in which Paul stars and also serves as a producer. Both Paul and Ryan will participate in individual Coffee Talks, the festival’s crown jewel, which are moderated discussions about their careers, the release said.

Alex Ross Perry will receive the Rising Star Award for Directing on Saturday, March 16, and will attend a screening of his latest film “Her Smell” which stars Elisabeth Moss, Cara Delevingne, Dan Stevens, Amber Heard, Eric Stoltz and Virginia Madsen.

Fisher Stevens will receive the Snow Angel Award on Saturday, March 16, which honors an individual for outstanding advocacy work with a focus on environmental sustainability. The festival will also screen his film “Tigerland” and will participate in the Nat Geo WILD’s Salon.

The festival will open on March 13 with the Sony Pictures Classics’ documentary “David Crosby: Remember My Name” with director A.J. Eaton attending, and close with the HBO documentary “Running with Beto” directed by David Modigliani.

The festival will screen two world premiere documentaries, “Apollo: Missions to the Moon” and “Hostile Planet: Mountains.” Additional film highlights include the highly anticipated Lionsgate film “Long Shot,” directed by Jonathan Levine with Seth Rogen and Charlize Theron; “The Mountain” directed by Rick Alverson with Jeff Goldblum and Tye Sheridan; “The Parting Glass,” directed by Stephen Moyer (who will attend the festival) with Denis O’Hare and Ed Asner and “The Sound of Silence” directed by Michael Tyburski with Peter Sarsgaard and Rashida Jones.

Select films will screen at the new Argyros Performing Arts Center, which will be transformed into the Ford Main Street Theater for the duration of the festival. Additional films, including the slate of selected short films, will be announced on the festival website at a later date.

The Sun Valley Film Festival, presented by Ford, has a long history of supporting and creating career-changing opportunities for Idaho filmmakers and independent artists the world over. With over 4,500 yearly attendees, SVFF is quickly becoming known as “the Festival for Filmmakers.” This year, the festival will award more than $200,000 in prizes through its Screenwriters Lab, the Film Lab and Wild to Inspire competitions, among others.

Passes and information at

Recommended for you

Load comments