If you are prompted to complete a survey to access this article, you may need to scroll the window down slightly

BOISE — After finishing the regular season 11-1 and with an eighth Western Athletic Conference title in nine years, half of the 22 first-team all-WAC players on offense and defense are Boise State Broncos.

Junior quarterback Kellen Moore was selected as the co-offensive player of the year, along with Nevada senior Colin Kaepernick. Six Broncos were selected to the first-team offense, with five on defense.

It is the second time Moore has won the honor, and the fourth for a Boise State player, as Brock Forsey won it in 2002 and Ryan Dinwiddie did so the following season. Moore, a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, is second in the nation with a passer efficiency rating of 185.04 and has broken multiple school records this season, including yardage and touchdowns.

Also honored on offense were a pair of Moore’s receivers — Titus Young and Austin Pettis — who have combined for 1,955 yards and 124 receptions this season in their senior campaigns. It was the third all-WAC honor for Pettis, who was a second-teamer in 2008. Junior offensive linemen Nate Potter (tackle) and Thomas Byrd (center) were first-team honorees, as was junior running back Doug Martin. Potter was a first-team selection last season, while Byrd and Martin were first-time honorees.

Defensively, the Broncos had both starting defensive ends earn first-team nods in senior Ryan Winterswyk and junior Shea McClellin. Nickel Winston Venable joined the pair as a linebacker, while safeties George Iloka and Jeron Johnson also were on the first team. For Winterswyk, it was his third appearance on the all-WAC first-team.

Fresno State defensive end Chris Carter was the defensive player of the year, while San Jose State linebacker Keith Smith was the freshman of the year. Nevada coach Chris Ault was selected the coach of the year, his second such honor.

The Broncos also had three second-team all-WAC honorees — all on defense. They were defensive tackle Billy Winn, linebacker Byron Hout and cornerback Brandyn Thompson.


Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.